Trust

by Bear Hunter

Blog entries are easy to make under an alias.  I’m doing it right now.  If someone thinks you have lost your mind who cares.  It won’t effect your job, your relationships and your family won’t shun you.  You can say and express anything you want.  Sometimes I wish that held true in the real world.

When you’ve been holding onto secrets and you feel like you are going to explode, who do you tell?  Do you tell your spouse/significant other?  Do you tell a shrink?  How about your parents?  Who do you tell?  What if what you have to tell them is nearly unbelievable?  You can be an upstanding member of society and respected in your field of work.  The last thing you want is to lose the respect of the people that mean the most to you.

Yet, something inside you burns.  You saw something that you are certain is real.  You can’t explain it, but you know it happened.  You want to tell somebody… anybody… but the fear grips you.

Some things I’m not even ready to admit online and under an alias.  I’m not sure who I can trust or how deep the rabbit hole actually goes.  It’s hard to imagine that someone is searching blogs looking for someone who knows what I know.  It’s a paranoid though… right?

Maybe there is no harm in telling people.  Maybe I can just blurt it out and the people around me will just shrug it off.  I’m sure many of you out there have experienced the same thing.  You can’t be sure if you can trust people.  We’ve all been laughed at, betrayed and persecuted in one way or another in the past, it can be devastating.  You sometimes lose sight of what might be safe to admit and what isn’t.  You wonder… is it worth the risk?

– Bear Hunter

Image

